Microlight Certificate - Private Pilot's Licence?
Each licence type has its advantages and its limitations.
The licence you have determines the type of aircraft you can fly.

WHICH LICENCE SHOULD I GET?Learn to fly at your local aero club, at a pace to suit your time and budget.

What’s the difference?

The primary difference between a Microlight and a General Aviation aircraft is weight. The principal secondary difference is the stall speed in the landing configuration, which determines the minimum air speed when landing. Other major differences are the maintenance and training requirements, stability of flight in less favorable flying conditions, licensing and operating costs.

The Private Pilot's License (PPL) and Commercial Pilot's (CPL) are issued by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) whereas a Microlight Certificate (AMC) - not strictly a license - can be issued by a Part 149 organisation, under delegated authority from CAA. Flying NZ holds a Part 149 certificate and under delegation issues Microlight Certificates of all levels, including for microlight instructors.

Holders of a PPL and CPL can fly at night and under Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) when rated to do so. They can also carry as many passengers as the capacity of the aircraft they are rated to fly. Microlight (AMC) pilots are limited to daylight operations and a maximum of two places including that of the pilot. Other restrictions also apply to AMC pilots. 

PPL and CPL medical examinations are conducted by a designated medical examiner and accessed by the CAA. Some PPL and Microlight examinations are less expensive being undertaken by your own doctor.

Advanced Microlight Certificate

A microlight aircraft is one that does not weigh over 600kg when fully loaded and has a fully loaded stall speed, when in landing configuration, of 45 Knots or less.

Some advanced microlight aircraft, look, handle and fly as fast and as well as any GA aircraft, at a much lower operating cost. Maintenance requirements are less stringent also helping costs. Inherently however because of their low weight and inertia, they are not usually flown in turbulent conditions, resulting in less flyable days.

To gain an Advanced Microlight Certificate (AMC) the trainee must undergo flight and theory training in a microlight aircraft and demonstrate competence to an instructor authorised to conduct flight tests under a Part 149 delegation.

An Advanced Microlight Certificate (AMC) holder can fly any microlight aircraft that they are rated and current in. A microlight pilot may not carry passengers, unless authorised by the issuer. The certificate will be endorsed accordingly. PPL and CPL pilots may also fly any microlight aircraft that they are rated and current in and can carry a passenger.

As with all aircraft operations, the privileges of a licence can only be exercised if the pilot has a valid medical certificate and has had a Biennial Flight Review (BFR) within the previous 24 months, undertaken by an instructor authorised to conduct BFRs.

Private Pilots Licence

The training requirements for a PPL must be provided by a CAA Part 61 rated instructor.  

A PPL licence will not be issued or remain valid unless the holder has a current medical and BFR. The medical can be a DL9 which can be issued by your doctor or a CAA Class 2 or higher medical certificate, issued by a CAA approved DME. 

To be able to fly on a DL9 driver licence medical certificate, your DL9 needs to be at least a Class 2 (2,3,4,5) medical certificate with passenger (P) endorsement. This certificate must be carried at all times when flying.

There are some minor differences in the privileges that a PPL holder has, depending upon medical type.
See button below.

If your intent is to only ever participate in Sport and Recreational flying, then a DL9 medical may be all you need. If you wish to take your flying further, or wish to be free of the restrictions, it is recommended you obtain a CAA medical early in your career.

Light Sport Aircraft
Light Sport Aircraft (LSA) aircraft may be used for AMC training or you can gain your PPL or CPL in a Light Sport Aircraft, when trained by a Part 61 rated instructor. 

Advanced Microlight Aircraft

Advanced Microlight aircraft are two place aircraft weighing 600kg or less when fully loaded with pilot, passenger fuel and baggage. They are usually powered with an efficient light weight Rotax engine, often water cooled.

Limited maintenance can be undertaken by the owner. The aircraft must undergo an annual airworthiness inspection.

Popular GA training aircraft

GA training aircraft are usually two-place but can be four-place and are certified aircraft. They are maintained by a CAA licensed aircraft engineer (LAME) to strict standards.

Popular two-place trainers are the Piper Tomahawk, Robin/Alpha 2160, and the Cessna 152. Some PPL trainees prefer to train in a four-place such as a Cessna 172 or Piper Warrior.

GA cross country aircraft

While cross country flying is usually undertaken in a four place aircraft, there is no reason not to fly cross country in a two place.

A four place aircraft is often preferred because it can carry more passengers, fuel and baggage and flies a little faster. The heavier weight also gives a better ride in turbulent conditions.

Light Sport Aircraft

Light Sport Aircraft (LSA) are certified versions of advanced microlights.
They are factory built and maintained to the same standards as GA aircraft. LSA aircraft may be used for training for an microlight certificate (AMC) with a microlight instructor or a PPL or CPL, when trained by a Part 61 rated instructor. 

AND AFTER I HAVE MY LICENCE?You can enjoy your new skills locally, Nationally or even Internationally.